OH CANADA

27 02 2010

 

Its Feb 24 I take a flight from Toronto to Vancouver.  The energy on the plane and in Vancouver airport is electric.  Tonight it is team Canada and Russia in a must win game.  Im a bit sad boarding my flight to Nanaimo as its hard to leave the excitement….wishing I was watching that game live tonight!

I take my 13 minute flight over to the Island.  Man Canada is so beautiful.  The mountains with snow-caps, the ocean aqua blue and clear.

I am in my running gear with-in an hour from picking up my bags from the carousal!  A few questions to the concierge (who didn’t have a clue where to run) and I set off along the waterfront, Seawall.  Im staying at the coastal Inn.  I like it there as it’s got a nice little gym, a great Spa, and it’s right on the water.

I set off in a cool drizzle.  It’s foggy and about 11C.  It’s nice for me.  Warmest weather in 3 months. 

My legs are tight…..really tight.  Sore calves, sore hip flexors.  I never do well flying.  I was on the back of the bus.  Even though I have Super Elite status with Air Canada, the difference in ticket price was too much to justify.  I wasn’t going to use my Red Super System wide upgrade certificates for this flight.  I ll need them for a more punishing trip.

So I run for 10 minutes and walk a bit sipping water…..delicious Nanaimo water!

I have a trick for tight calves though.  Don’t push them hard.  Warm them up and then find a small hill.  Once you do a hill or two they seem to stretch out.

Im at the 3.5 km mark and feeling great both physically and spiritually.  Im down by the Ferry terminal…..I take a few wrong turns and end up on a beach……………..I hesitate as there is a sign saying that the beach may get covered at high tide, hmmm sounds like the Advocate “Run like Moses, run”

I jog a couple hundred meters down the hard packed beach and voila!  A path heading up into the forest.  I start up.  I can tell its going to be a climb all the way.  Perfect.  I wanted to hammer my Quads a bit.  It’s a really spectacular little trail and im a bit disappointed when I arrive back on the main road, “Departure Bay Drive”…………I continue forward down the road and realize that indeed I am going down…hmmmmmmm, that means I ll have to come back up.  I was hoping to hit some hills, but be careful what you wish for!

I run down into a small community by the water and decide at 7.5 km I should turn back.  Man that is a hill!  About a 1 km climbs.  Nice.  My Quads and Glutes will be sore tomorrow.  Im thrilled when I get back to my little trail back through the woods.  Its fast and slippery running down.

A light rain, a muddy hilly trail with roots and rocks.  This has to be good training for my Death Race! 

I m going back fast.  Easily fast.  Hitting 4:20-5:00 / km pace.  Legs are definitely feeling it, but it’s a great run.  Rain stops.  Sun comes out and the tops of the mountains appear from the mist.

Wow.  What a beautiful country.  What a great pastime running is.  I get healthy while im enjoying myself.  So luck to have these opportunities in life.  I can’t imagine another life.

Where will my next adventure take me?

Actions

Information

One response

28 02 2010
Joan Czapalay

Your runs are inspiring to others, too. Stefan. And you are right about the beauty of this country! I am so glad that you are enjoying it all.

Leave a Reply

