A rested body performs better

13 05 2010

Having a small injury and taking time off running was extremely difficult mentally, but extremely rewarding and perhaps the best thing that could of happened to me 94 days before the big race.

I had no idea that i was so exhausted.  Looking back i was cranky.  not eating or sleeping well.  Signs for sure of being over trained and tired.

I had an ankle and arch issue and took 3 days off and then ran a 12km…next day my foot was in bad shape and i feared Plantar Faciatus!  I ended up taking another 8 days off, with the 6th day in bed reading most of the day.

At first i was depressed, then i realized that i could use this time as a gift and hit the gym and build core strength.  In the 11 days without running i got into the gym 8 days.  I did some Eliptical ( yuk) and some stationary bike ( hmmm?) and some swimming (ok) and pounded my abs and hip flexors and lower back and QUADS…for 2.5 hours a workout.  This was fantastic.  As a result i ripped up and have more lean muscle mass than two weeks ago!

The beautiful part is yesterday i did a test run of 10 km slow and i felt very energized.  No fatigue whats so ever.  Foot is still “tight” and i ll need to keep an eye on it but no pain.  So today i got up at 4:45AM and had my coffee…………yesterday Stephen ( my coach) thought i should go out hard today……………….and i went out in my new Saucony Progrid Stabile Shoes for a 15 km up the river.  A bit stiff but feeling very strong.  I set out on a 5 min/km pace and decided to hold that as my heart rate was about 75% and breathing nice.  The only thing is in my enthusiasm i ate only two bites of a banana so by 12 km i was feeling it!  Craving some sugar!   Anyway

The birds were going wild in a chirpfest and it was just barley light.  Mist rolling up off the humber.  Geese waddling up the river bank with thier little ones……………..no one else on the path.  Oh man it felt good!  I forced myself to stop a minute at 4km and do a systems chk and a stretch of the calves…………tight foot!  When i set off from this 30 secound break i had to hold the reins!  I had juice now.  Just for fun after the turn around at 9 km i turned up the heat to see what i had….locked in on a 4:15 pace for a km……felt awesome.  Ramped it back and came in on pace at 76 minutes for a 15.05……………………OMG!  I love running!

I will never agian take it for granted.  i promise to look after my body better and try harder to listen to it.  Feed and rest it properly.  Running like today feels like when i was a kid.  So so meditative!  No i pod, no cars, no nothing…my breathing and my feet ( when you could hear my feet at all)……………birds…..blue sky with the sun poking up.  8C!

Sigh……………….i want to run like Forest Gump…right to the ocean and back

So heres the plan……………………Mississauga Marathon this Sunday.  Slow and easy at a 4 hour 15 pace!…………………………..I dont know my week yet as Stephen wants to see whats what after the marathon………………….next Sunday run the Bluenose marathon with my sister Ava.  Just signed up for this.  stephen will probably read this and kick my ass but she really needs some mental support for this……………4 hour 18 minute pace………………………….and the weekend after that…..?

My first actual Ultra Marathon…….Sulpher Springs 50 miler!  81.3 km.  Holy Crap im excited but nervous enough to throw up.

I ll keep you posted!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

