Balancing Life

20 11 2010

 

I would think the most difficult thing an amateur runner has to do is to balance a consistent training program with a life of work and family and proper rest.   I have never been able to perfectly balance these. 

Currently my training is barely maintenance.  I am not one to make excuses but in the month of November it became clear that i would get injured if i forced myself to train everyday i was scheduled.  Instead what i had to do was honestly evaluate everyday and train when my body said it was ok.  As a result i suffered the incredible workload and travel schedule relatively un-scathed and am ready to get back on a more fixed schedule for dec.

My goal the last several weeks has been to maintain a decent fitness base so i could jump-start my training in January for the 27 weeks prior to Deathrace.

i am writing a basic work related story on my other blog page at http://www.culinarydesignsolutions.wordpress.com   to explain why my training schedule was difficult if not at times humanly impossible to maintain.

I think this new approach to my training will help me train better and have less injury and prevent burn out.

I am so looking forward to 2011 training schedule.

as for mental preparation to run Ultra marathons i would have to say there has been no endurance run i have done yet which comes remotely close to the mental toughness i need to do my job.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 12 2010
forex trading platforms

Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…

2 12 2010
extremechef

Thankyou

Leave a Reply

