2 Weeks out………….taper time

14 05 2011

Nice to see this little Baltimore Oriole on the path today, as well as 3 deer.   Imagine, Toronto is the 5th biggest city in NA and there is so much wildlife.  The trail was covered in small land snails which I try to avoid but its impossible as there are thousands.   I saw a big fat porcupine sleeping in a tree!  Beautiful time of year.

So two weeks from today i will have hopefully run 50 miles at this time…..with 50 more to go!!

I have to say that i hit some serious lows in my training this time.   the last several weeks have been rough to say the least.  The all time low was last week in Belgium where i was working huge hours, and did the biggest training week of my life with 201km completed………….alone…………..

Many people tell me about how busy their job is and i smile.   Ever work in the food service industry?  I mean really work in it?  Crazy is the only way to describe it.  Sometimes brutal marathon shifts of 16 to 18 hours on your feet.  I don’t mean wandering around with a coffee in one hand…………….or taking a break when you want.  I mean going as hard as you can for as long as you can with sometimes no chance to even use the washroom for several hours…………..brutal by times……………………so i got a bit down.  i was exhausted both mentally and physically…………….the upcoming task of running 100 miles seemed daunting.

I arrived home with a sinus infection which progressed to the point of a major lung infection bordering on pneumonia.    Finally i went on antibiotics.  the doctor said ” after 2 to 3 days of these and a lot of bed rest you will be fine”   guess running 150 km while sick and on antibiotics wasnt what he had in mind as im still a bit sick today a week later.lol

BUT

im glad i got sick.   im glad my foot got injured!   I was starting to get cocky.  A bit arrogant about the task at hand.   I may have thought i could run further or faster.   Getting sick made me so grateful for my health.  I don’t want to take for granted the simplicity of good health.   My injured foot is a symptom of the mileage and my job.  Cest la Vie!

This week i completed 181 km.   On one run i had a fever of 101 and had to stop to throw up…………..good training as I hear many people throw up when running 100 mile races.  So much to look forward to!

Today it threatened rain but it held off for the entire run.  i was so fortunate to have people to run with for almost the whole run.  Diana went out with me for the first 7 km and then i ran a few hill repeats on the switch back and then Patrick joined me for 31………….ended up with 42.2.  quite by accident a full marathon distance.  We went at an extremely slow pace which was perfect and when we finished i realized that if i pace myself carefully and have proper rest and nutrition, depending on what my body feels like that day then YES i can run the 100 miles!   i can honestly say that when i do Marathon distance now in a slow 4.5 hour pace i feel like i havent even excercised………….completely fresh.

So now its taper time.  this week 100 km or a bit less and next week 50 km at most.  the only thing i will do these next 13 days is try to let my foot injury heal and to keep the fitness level i have achieved.

Heres some stats

since january 1 I have run just under 2500 km.   I have run about 20 Marathon or plus distances

i have destroyed 4 pair of running shoes and have 2 more on the way out.

I burn on average 30,000 calories a week ( almost double my norm)

I have eaten, approx 175 gels ( yuck), drank approx 250 litres of Gatorade and Carbo pro.  Eaten 3 kg of Walnuts, 50 cans of sardines, 15 kg of dark chocolate, 9 litres of peanut butter, 7 kg of oatmeal, 4 litres of honey, 100 bananas,  taken almost 200,000 mg of omega 3 fish oil, destroyed 9 pair of socks.

I now weigh 83.5 kgs ( from 93 on christmas day), Body fat of 11%.

resting Heart Rate is 47, maximum Heart Rate is 182…………average running heart rate is 142

So I don’t have schedule for next week yet as my coach is busy running a marathon on sunday……..he is 76 by the way and runs several a year generally winning or coming 2nd at worst in his age class!!!  If only!!!

I will start to pack for Sulphur this week as i like to be ready well in advance.  i will buy 2 more pair of shoes and that’s it!

so running something like

Sunday 20+ 20 for  40km SLOW ( have to fly to Cape Breton)

Monday OFF

Tuesday Run a FAST 12 km then swim and core

Wed, a slow 15 km

Thursday Core and Swim

Friday 21 km Race Pace

Saturday 12 km Tempo

Stay tuned….tic toc…………….hoping to post live video and blog during the run!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

